top of page

Art is a shortcut to reach our senses and engage

intense emotions.

                                                        - Sandra Defanti -

Sandra Defanti was born in 1964 in Giornico (Ticino, Switzerland) and cultivated her talent and passion for art from an early age. Sandra has always had a very strong artistic flair and approached painting as a self-taught artist. She finished her academic studies and graduated as a teacher of plastic-arts to pass on her passion to young students. After marrying Cesare Defanti, she left teaching to run the Defanti restaurant and hotel with him, which has been family-run for four generations. Her passion for painting led her to fill all the rooms, corridors and halls of the hotel with paintings. Having no more space in which to exhibit, she left this activity for the benefit of her other passion: cooking.

Driven to learn, Sandra becomes a certified cook and apprentices trainer. In the kitchen, she expresses her creativity in the search for tastes, colours and flavours that she incorporates into each of her creations. Combining her artistic talent with her passion for good food, she finds a unique way to deliver art in every dish. Defanti’s restaurant therefore abandons traditional cuisine in favour of a modern and artistic style where the pleasure of dining becomes an interactive and sensory experience.

In 2016, following wrists surgery that forced her away from the kitchen, Sandra began modelling wax for rehabilitation purposes. She thus creates the first model to be cast in bronze using the lost-wax method. Thereafter, she attended numerous courses to sharpen her technique at the International Sculpture Centre (Peccia, Switzerland) and at Perseo’s Art Foundry (Mendrisio, Switzerland). The spark was ignited and from the very beginning, as it does in the furnace, the fire for the extraordinary world of bronze sculpture burns within her.

Sandra finds artistic inspiration in the fertile soil of her intense life as an all-round woman. The artist is in fact at once a career woman who runs the successful Defanti’s restaurant with her husband, a daughter of elderly parents in need of constant care, a caring mother, and last but not least a present grandmother of two lovely granddaughters who bring her daily back to the present moment. In fact, Sandra's artistic production is closely linked to significant life experiences that were worth being fixed and represented in an extraordinary bronze.

Sandra's works stem from her desire to personalise gifts for her family on special occasions. The Cat is a gift to her husband Cesare who has never been able to own one; Embrace to Life is a gift to her daughter Camilla to celebrate the birth of their daughters hence granddaughters; The Reader for her son Riccardo, a literature lover and dreamer. As time goes by, more beautiful statues come to light. As happened with the paintings, the bronzes begin to fill all Sandra's surroundings. The pretty bronze figures end up being exhibited at the family restaurant as decorations on tables.

The response from customers was as unexpected as it was immediate. The innovative idea makes the experience of dining together unique, and purchase requests increase day by day. As if they were her own children, Sandra is not able to part with her artworks created for her family. Only on a later stage, following encounters with special people, the artists realises that her artworks are ready to leave the nest and fly to other homes, to enlarge the family of friends and bring joy to the people who value them.

bottom of page

top of page

L'art est un raccourci pour atteindre nos sens et déclencher des émotions intenses.     

                                                                          - Sandra Defanti -

Sandra Defanti est née en 1964 à Giornico (Tessin, Suisse) et a cultivé son talent et sa passion pour l'art dès son plus jeune âge. Sandra a toujours eu une veine artistique très forte et a et a approché la peinture de manière autodidacte. Après ses études universitaires, elle obtint le diplôme de professeur d'arts plastiques et transmit sa passion aux jeunes élèves. Après son mariage avec Cesare Defanti, elle quitta l'école pour gérer avec lui le restaurant et l'hôtel de la famille Defanti à sa quatrième génération. Sa passion pour la peinture la mena ainsi à remplir de tableaux toutes les chambres, couloirs et salons de l'hôtel. N'ayant plus d'espace pour exposer, Sandra abandonne la peinture au profit de son autre passion : la cuisine.

Jamais lasse d'apprendre, Sandra s'est qualifiée comme cuisinière et formatrice d'apprentis. En cuisine, elle exprime son génie dans la recherche de goûts, de couleurs et de saveurs qu'elle intègre dans chacune de ses créations. En combinant son talent artistique et sa passion pour la bonne cuisine, Sandra trouve une façon unique de représenter l'art dans chaque plat. Le restaurant Defanti abandonne donc la cuisine traditionnelle au profit d'un style moderne et artistique où le plaisir de manger devient une expérience interactive et sensorielle.

En 2016, suite à une opération aux poignets qui l'a obligée à se tenir loin de la cuisine, Sandra a commencé à modeler la cire à des fins de réhabilitation. Elle crée ainsi le premier modèle qui sera coulé en bronze selon la méthode de la cire perdue. Ensuite, elle participe à de nombreux cours pour affiner sa technique au Centre international de sculpture  (Peccia, Tessin) et à la fonderie d’art Perseo (Mendrisio, Tessin). La flamme s'est allumée et immédiatement, comme dans la fournaise, le feu pour le monde extraordinaire de la sculpture en bronze n’a plus cessé de brûler en elle.

Sandra trouve son inspiration artistique dans le terreau fertile de sa vie active de femme multitasking. L'artiste est en effet à la fois une femme de carrière qui gère le restaurant Defanti avec son mari, la fille de parents âgés qui ont besoin d'une aide et de soins constants, une mère attentive, et enfin la grand-mère présente de deux petites-filles pleines de vie qui la ramènent quotidiennement au présent. En effet, la production artistique de Sandra est étroitement liée à des expériences significatives de sa vie qui méritaient d'être immortalisés et représentées dans des œuvres d’art en bronze extraordinaires.

Les œuvres de Sandra sont nées de son désir de personnaliser des cadeaux pour sa famille lors d'occasions spéciales. Le Chat est un cadeau à son mari Cesare qui n'a jamais pu en posséder un ; Embrasser la vie est un cadeau à sa fille Camilla pour célébrer la naissance de leurs filles et petites-filles ; Le Lecteur pour son fils Riccardo, un amoureux de la littérature et un rêveur. Au fur et à mesure que le temps passe, d'autres belles statues voient le jour, puis, comme pour les peintures, les bronzes commencent à remplir toutes les pièces de la vie de Sandra. Les statues finissent par être exposées comme décorations sur les tables du restaurant familial.

La réponse des clients faut aussi inattendue qu'immédiate. L'idée originale rend unique l'expérience de s'asseoir à table entre proches, et les demandes d'achat se mettent à augmenter de jour en jour. Comme s'il s'agissait de ses propres enfants, Sandra est incapable de se séparer de ses pièces d’art créées avec art pour sa famille. Cependant, à la suite de rencontres avec des personnes spéciales, l'artiste commence à percevoir l'amour avec lequel ses créations sont accueillies par le public. Elle réalise alors que le moment est venu et que ses œuvres en bronze sont prêtes à s'envoler vers d'autres foyers, à élargir sa famille d'amis et à apporter de la joie aux personnes qui les apprécient.

bottom of page